Skip to content

Private Data Sync

In order to sync your data across different computers, major browsers need to store it somewhere. Conveniently, they can place it on their servers.

We’re not really huge fans of that. So instead, we separate the storage from the browser in a feature called Private Data Sync. It works like this:  

You can store your browser data to any cloud based solution like Dropbox, Box, Google Drive, OneDrive or any similar service. Because you control your cloud account you can delete or move your data anywhere whenever you want.

Once you select a Private Data Sync storage location, you can access it from any computer. If you use Dropbox, for example, you just need to have Dropbox installed on all of the computers you use Ghost Browser on and the browser will be able to access it there.

Now, it’s true that your data still lives on the servers owned by your storage solution. However, it’s not stored in a way that Dropbox or Google – or we – can make any sense of it or use it to track your browsing.

Further your data is protected on those cloud solutions with the same Advanced Encryption Standard that is used by the US Government and other organizations world-wide. The data is protected by a key that only you know. So no one can open your files and peek inside either.

Since we are still helping you deal with potentially sensitive data, the first iteration of this feature is limited in the data it handles. At this point you can store and sync your bookmarks. We felt this was the least sensitive data in your browser, so we chose to use it to get the feature out into the wild before we dealt with more sensitive data.

In the future you will be able to sync more data types like Workspaces, Identities, autofill data, search history and as much data as possible to make your browser experience consistent across computers and keep it under your control.

You may have guessed, but this is also the beginning stage of allowing you to share your data with team members as well.

Private Data Sync is turned off by default. Even if you are not a heavy user of bookmarks we’d love for you to turn it on, try it and give us feedback so we can be sure all bases are covered before we expand the data we will help you sync.

To try it out please see this help article on how to enable it and start syncing your data. To provide feedback please email us.

11 Comments

  1. Jason on July 10, 2022 at 6:52 pm

    any idea why a new install of ghost just overwrites the private sync data when i try to load it from a backup. everything i have tried fails.

    password was saved in a manager, so i know its correct for the backup. but i cannot select the folder only the folder containing it, so it makes a new private sync folder. then i try to overwrite the contents of that and when i open ghost it just overwrites it again.

    what is the point if i cant actually select the sync folder, but only the folder that contains it and its going to make its own new folder each time?

Leave a Comment